May 25 2015

Gay marriage vote gets a resounding ‘yes’ in the Republic of Ireland

Tag: health/lifestyle,Newswendy @ 8:16 am

Well done to the people of Ireland who last Friday recognised the basic human right of consenting adult individuals to marry the partner of their choice. It is an acknowledgement by a maturing nation that love and commitment, and the right to formalise such, should not be dictated or restricted by sexuality.

Now, let’s address that other basic human right that IS restricted to sexuality…the right to choose whether or not to give birth. A vote to repeal the 8th Amendment and give women the right to decide not to continue with a pregnancy. The right to bodily autonomy is the most basic human right there is – and while pregnancy remains inextricably tied to a woman’s body it must be her choice and hers alone what to do with it.

Copyright © 2007-2015 Cultured Views. All rights reserved.


Apr 07 2015

Pregnant and a Jehovah’s Witness – to take blood or die…baby and all?

Tag: Australia,Female Topics,health/lifestyle,Newswendy @ 5:29 pm

In 2009 a pregnant woman, a Jehovah’s Witness, was diagnosed in an Australian hospital with leukaemia. She refused the treatment due to her beliefs and also the suggestion to deliver her baby via C Section due to her anti-blood stance. Both she and the baby died, the baby died first from the effects of her cancer and she died weeks after from organ failure. But should she have been allowed to make such a choice for herself and her baby? Yes!

I don’t agree with that woman’s choice but what I do believe in is that she was allowed to make that choice. What is society for? for forcing treatment on that woman against her will? sectioning her, imprisoning her in hospital on a ward with her arms tied down and drips forced into her veins to administer chemo? don’t sneer…that is exactly happens here in the Republic of Ireland, that good ol’ bastion of Roman Catholic doctrine that women are vessels and incubators for growing fetuses and little else. We have had several women in recent years here held in hospital against their will, female rape victims sectioned and held by the Irish State for requesting an abortion and threatening suicide if refused. The State held one 18 year old African asylum seeker last year in hospital in Dublin against her will as she was suicidal having been raped in Africa and begged for an abortion. She was held in hospital until she was 24 weeks and a C Section was forced on her and the baby taken even though she never consented. Women in Ireland have NO choice at all – it is birth at all costs, pregnancy is compulsory once confirmed and the State WILL detain a woman in hospital if they suspect she will try to seek a termination.

It is terrible that a woman would choose to die with her baby rather than live, but for the State to be allowed to interfere and take control of her body and the fetus inside just cannot be allowed in Australia as it is here in Ireland. Every individual must have bodily autonomy – it is no woman’s fault that we were designed the way we are and that the fetus is inextricably tied to ours for 9 months, but the woman’s wishes must always be prioritised because the alternative – giving the State control over a woman’s womb – is happening here every day and it is horrific.

Copyright © 2007-2015 Cultured Views. All rights reserved.


Feb 09 2015

The Stephen Nolan Show makes it official – Mrs White is linked to insanity!

Tag: Entertainment,Female Topics,Newswendy @ 11:56 am

Anyone who heard this Co Tyrone woman’s demented ramblings on BBC Ulster’s Stephen Nolan Show this morning will no doubt have been shaking their head in sheer wonder at how a mind can possibly put together so many incoherent and ludicrous ideas about sexual assault on women. It’s about their clothing you see….’ please officer, the short skirt made me do it, I swear to god the shirt skirt and plunging neckline turned me into an animal and I just could not stop myself turning into a rapist!’……….you could not make it up if you tried. Mrs White does, however, make it up – on a regular basis, and thoroughly spurred on by a mind blurred by biblical bile and sanctimonious religious dogma.

Mrs White, who is obsessed by feminism, says in a somewhat shrill manner “Feminism has blurred the difference between actual rape and the rape that is used to forward the feminist agenda”….yes folks, really. And with that, the woman and her crazed commentary was brought to a halt.

Stephen Nolan was 100 per cent right – such commentary is insane, completely and utterly insane.

Copyright © 2007-2015 Cultured Views. All rights reserved.


Feb 07 2015

The Sydney Siege and its victims – how much publicity is too much?

Tag: Australia,Newswendy @ 10:13 am

Why is the Australian public losing its initial sympathy with the people who were involved in what was a serious hostage situation? following this tragedy major current affairs programs have broadcast interviews with the survivors, who were paid large sums of money for their stories, but instead of widespread support they have become increasingly subject to criticism. Has society become cynical about these widely broadcast news stories, do we feel less and less sympathy for the people who are caught up in them simply because we keep hearing about every single detail for weeks and months after the event? are we less sorry for people who make large amounts of money out of situations where fellow victims lost their lives?

Compare this tragedy and its victims to that of the Granville train disaster and its victims and I can see why people are being so cynical about ‘The Sydney Siege’ fallout. Its the way in which major events like the siege are presented to the public these days when rolling 24 hour coverage and desire for the most sensational angles and details drives the news networks in feeding the appetite of the masses. People want coverage to be as explicit as possible these days because society has become de-sensitised to death, horror and grief. At Granville the media kept a respectful distance from the rescue workers, at the siege journalists were getting as close as possible to ‘see everything’ even members of the public were going out of their way to take selfies at a serious hostage situation! after Granville the victims and rescue workers quietly got on with the business of moving on, these days such victims get their hair and makeup done and earn vast amounts of money ‘recounting’ every gory detail. The media is so obsessed with feeding the public’s appetite for extreme grief and gore that a potentially serious terror threat was broadcast as though it was a major entertainment spectacle and the survivors are treated as cast members. Do we really need to know what happened to them in such detail and do they need to go public instead of maintaining some dignity and going to a trauma counsellor instead of 60 Minutes? no wonder so many are cynical and lacking sympathy for these people, they are not victims as much as they are ‘The Siege Survivors’…the more exposure and publicity they get the more this tragedy loses its impact.

Copyright © 2007-2015 Cultured Views. All rights reserved.

Next Page »

Copyright (c) 2007-2014 Wendy.